Changing the Subject

Over the past couple days I’ve had some time to blog, but my shipping containers are on various trains of thought are all over the map. While they’re being re-routed, I still need to post something–anything–just to not let the habit of writing fully die.

Awhile back there was a lot of conversation about the merits of posting anonymously versus writing under your legitimate name. The reason I don’t is because I don’t want Cane Caldo to be a subject of conversation at work. If that happens I’ll eventually get fired. They’ll just stop hiring me; not because I did something wrong, but because I work with a lot of women who–after hearing about what a modernist can only interpret as misogyny–will express a vague unease about me; they just would feel more “coooomfortable, you know?”, with someone else. My direct managers will happily comply with a suitable replacement.

But, honestly, the issue is that we here are–for the most part–of the conservative bent of mind, and conservatives conserve nothing as much as grace and respect. They hoard it, really. Consequently, I have zero faith that any of you would or could find me another job.

Liberals don’t do this to each other. The ACORN employees who were responsible for destroying the entire organization went back to work the next day for the NAACP, or the Urban League, or some other association of like-minded folks; and with pats on the back for their bravery. Here’s what conservatives offer each other: “That sucks, but you screwed up, and you should have known this would happen.” Perhaps (if they’re feeling extra forgiving that day) they’ll tack on, “I’ll pray for you.”

I’ll pass.

20 thoughts on “Changing the Subject

  1. The last part—that liberals don’t do this to each other—is especially interesting to me. It’s spot-on, but it feels uncomfortable to say.

    I think it comes with the territory, though. A common theme I’ve seen through the conservative movement, the manosphere, neoreaction, the whole bit—is the importance of the small and self-directed. I readily admit that none of my fellow bloggers would be willing to really go to bat for me—but they don’t need to, because members of my family or congregation would.

  2. I think we lack community. If you were fired, I could offer a place to stay. I have spare rooms, and a big house and plenty of space at my table. That is what I have to offer, not a job.

  3. What is more, it is entirely unnecessary – wasteful – for you to stand in the middle of a field with a target painted on you. It accomplishes nothing.

  4. @DropIt & Joanna

    I think it comes with the territory, though.

    &

    I think we lack community.

    No, we abandon the territory and reject community. That’s great that the members of DropIt’s family would go to bat for him. Consequently, they know his real name. It would be interesting to know how many know his online persona.

    @ DropIt

    The last part—that liberals don’t do this to each other—is especially interesting to me. It’s spot-on, but it feels uncomfortable to say.

    The examples are nearly endless: Planned Parenthood, Journ-o-list contributors, newspaper plagiarists, administration “czars”… All of whom actually did something wrong that they deserved to get punished for–even other liberals agree. That doesn’t stop them from actually loving them by going out of their way to find their fellow disgraced liberal gainful employment, succor, etc. Not to mention they will defend those persons, and attack anyone who brings up the sins that brought disgrace.

    @Zippy

    What is more, it is entirely unnecessary – wasteful – for you to stand in the middle of a field with a target painted on you. It accomplishes nothing.

    Yes, this is the way we think. If I did reveal myself and I get busted, then it’s my fault for getting fired by doing something unneccessary, wasteful, and which accomplished nothing. Whatever good I may have done before is beside the point of the blunder.

    I’m not saying you in particular would not help, Zippy. Perhaps you would. But the mindset is exactly what I was talking about. For someone of a conservative cast of mind, there is barely a stop between “entirely unnecessary – wasteful – for you to stand in the middle of a field with a target painted on you. It accomplishes nothing”, and “That sucks, but you screwed up, and you should have known this would happen.” It’s a seductive reasoning to the sort of soul that is inclined to conserve; including mine.

  5. You’re certainly right about rejecting community. I have often done so myself. Actually, I am doing that right now. I don’t like people in my business. Yet, how do they support me or admonish me if I never let them know me. I dare say my friends here and at Elspeth’s know me better than the vast majority of people at the church we last attended. Why do I do that?

    And then some Christian chastises me on Facebook for drinking coffee, and making jokes about how lovely coffee is and all my questions about why I don’t want to hang out with other Christians too often are answered. Good grief.

  6. Cane:
    I was being literal, expressing a judgement about the value of an action, not an attitude. Getting yourself and your family destroyed by leftists would not actually accomplish anything worthwhile; so why do it?

  7. I understand, and it wasn’t my intent to attempt to characterize Zippy’s attitude.

    Conservatives are generally better at those value judgments, and so they reach the same conclusion you and I do. (Everyone should note I will continue posting as CC.) Further, they believe everyone should arrive at that conclusion if “they really think about it”. (Again, I tend to agree.)

    At this point is where we conservative-minded folks are seduced into the idea that since the offender made a mistake he should suffer the consequences; in the name of fairness, order, justice, etc. The truth is that it is hard to be bothered to actually do anything, and that taking a risk on someone is…risky.

  8. I’m with you there, brother. Nobody who is persecuted by leftists deserves it, and it is easy to fall into a “well, he should have been more careful” mindset. Even if he should have been more careful and shown more discretion, the only reason he has to at all is because despicably evil people are milling about in a demonic rage looking to pick off victims to sacrifice to their insatiable god.

  9. Nobody who is persecuted by leftists deserves it,

    Well, that’s a relief to know. I was worried there for a minute.

    Cane, I’m a little confused at the two things you are comparing. The liberal examples you gave are examples of corrupt cronyism. Why should conservatives emulate that?

    Furthermore, there are no spaces in which people of our mindset can develop that kind of community in the modern world because every place is infested with liberals and feminists. If a place comes into existence that isn’t open to women, for example, immediately the cry goes up and doesn’t stop until women (virtually all of whom are feminists to some degree or another) are allowed in. Same with every other little branch of liberalism. We have no space in which to cultivate a supportive community that could do the kinds of things for one another that liberals do.

    By contrast, nearly all spaces are liberal spaces. At taxpayer expense, they live and move and have their being wherever they choose. Of course they can build cozy little communities easy as pie.

  10. I would totally not help you, but I would give you a hard time. I gather it’s very motivational, as my husband has never been unemployed.

    There was a bit of the rare community in Central Texas, among artists and those of us who work on the periphery of the arts, lots of people passing around work and engaging others who they knew needed it. It was very prone to bubble-itis, though, and ultimately not very friendly to newcomers. It was better, but far from perfect.

  11. @SSM

    Cane, I’m a little confused at the two things you are comparing. The liberal examples you gave are examples of corrupt cronyism. Why should conservatives emulate that?

    My suggestion would be to surpass it; not emulate it. Cronyism is what we call it because it is corrupt. But, don’t listen to me on the subject; this is what Jesus had to say:

    16 And he said also unto his disciples, There was a certain rich man, which had a steward; and the same was accused unto him that he had wasted his goods.

    2 And he called him, and said unto him, How is it that I hear this of thee? give an account of thy stewardship; for thou mayest be no longer steward.

    3 Then the steward said within himself, What shall I do? for my lord taketh away from me the stewardship: I cannot dig; to beg I am ashamed.

    4 I am resolved what to do, that, when I am put out of the stewardship, they may receive me into their houses.

    5 So he called every one of his lord’s debtors unto him, and said unto the first, How much owest thou unto my lord?

    6 And he said, An hundred measures of oil. And he said unto him, Take thy bill, and sit down quickly, and write fifty.

    7 Then said he to another, And how much owest thou? And he said, An hundred measures of wheat. And he said unto him, Take thy bill, and write fourscore.

    8 And the lord commended the unjust steward, because he had done wisely: for the children of this world are in their generation wiser than the children of light.

    9 And I say unto you, Make to yourselves friends of the mammon of unrighteousness; that, when ye fail, they may receive you into everlasting habitations.

    10 He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much: and he that is unjust in the least is unjust also in much.

    11 If therefore ye have not been faithful in the unrighteous mammon, who will commit to your trust the true riches?

    12 And if ye have not been faithful in that which is another man’s, who shall give you that which is your own?

    13 No servant can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.

    Furthermore, there are no spaces in which people of our mindset can develop that kind of community in the modern world because every place is infested with liberals and feminists.

    All I stipulated was that you (the plural “you”) would not find me a job. While that is a community kind of project, that’s not even community. Most conservatively-minded people are stingy and cowardly risk-averse by nature.

    @Velvet

    I would totally not help you, but I would give you a hard time. I gather it’s very motivational, as my husband has never been unemployed.

    “The worker deserves his wages”, madam.

  12. @Velvet

    I just now re-read my comment back to you, and it should be noted that I jested, and the comment is best understood backwards: Without wages, I don’t work.

  13. Part of it is we are a judgemental bunch which brings it’s own problems. We are also, oddly, not as idealogically motivated.

    Another problem is that we’ve let our familial alliances die. People think I’m crazy when I talk about my role as my families heir apparent and de facto head. But is those extended family ties that work the best for us. We are natural aristocrats even if we serve as the butlers.

  14. @GKC

    We are also, oddly, not as idealogically motivated.

    I think this is a failure. Who else should know better than conservatives that we are not naturally motivated to good works, and must make hard choices.

    Another problem is that we’ve let our familial alliances die.

    “Better a friend near by than a brother far away.”

  15. I’ll out myself a bit here, I’m not as against the left as some would suppose. I may hate their ideology but I think some of their methods of thinking _are_ useful and in a perfect world things would…well…work better…including leftists.

    But yes, we aren’t as swift in the boot kicking ideology department. Which is why the concern about right-leaning organizations mounting sweeping revolts against the government is so laughable. I look at most of the right wingers/conservatives/reactionaries I know and they just would not lift a finger to stop their fellow travelers from getting trampled on. They’d explain things away long after Kristallnacht. I’ve even talked about this with a group of conservative writers that I maintain contact with. Our near suicidal tendencies are just strange.

    I’ve also thought for a long while about the “March of the Institutions” and some of Vox’s comments on policing those institutions you are attached to (interestingly I’d probably kick Vox out of many…). I think that’s a small start you can make. Even then, you are right, I might hide you and your family but I’m going to be hesitant at losing my job over it.

    In the end most of us dream the great aristocratic dream: of dying comfortably asleep in our beds. Preferably after the sudden onset of a painless death.

  16. We are ( conservative evangelicals ) a small group. And this IS satan’s world. Of course they don’t like us.

  17. Pingback: Lightning Round – 2013/11/27 | Free Northerner

  18. Pingback: Sheepwolves | Things that We have Heard and Known

  19. Pingback: Thoughts on building up the Body of Christ | Moose Norseman

  20. Pingback: Throwing Out the Baby to Conserve the Bathwater | Things that We have Heard and Known

Leave a Reply

