The Deliciousness of Bad Eggs

There exists a context–pop/current culture–that is totally out of our control. If I examine a show as if it existed outside that context then I might say: “Hey, that show is fine.” In my opinion it is very stupid of conservatives to do this, and this is how they lose the culture war. It’s not a coincidence that every year Disney makes a movie about strong entitled princesses that either reject their father, or he is simply not around. It doesn’t matter to them either way, because the main point is to make movies that highlight strong females who do not need a father to succeed; that all their sins mistakes make them the beautiful heroines they were always meant to be.

I do not buy the line that women filter out the things we want them to filter out; the “bad eggs” as bad, for example. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard women say–of a pop hit they’re singing–,”Oh, I don’t pay attention to the words.” It’s a lie. It’s a flat-out lie, and they think they can sell it because they know men want to believe women are angels; that they don’t want dick; that they don’t think about sex; that they don’t linger on John Mayer’s much discussed sexual merits when they listen to his songs; that they don’t want to be the most beautiful and haughty princess who lives in a castle and has a potentially dangerous but ultimately harmless liaisons with foreign princes. Women don’t exist in a moral vacuum; waiting to be pulled towards or spared from bad eggs. They love them some bad eggs. (Which is why I detest the stupid idea that women like strong provider types, and that why they like bad boys is because they are actually displaying provider tendencies. My experience is they liked me bad.)

Re-purposed from this comment.

22 thoughts on “The Deliciousness of Bad Eggs

  1. I had to turn off a Conway Twitty song in the car the other day because it amounted to an r rated sex scene. Conway Twitty! I considered writing a post about it It’s easy to think in terms of pop influences as being post 1980 breakfast club kind of stuff but it seems to have taken hold much earlier than that as the general cultural influence.

    Bad eggs? Thinking. I do see/agree about the Disney princess thing.

  2. @Velvet

    It’s easy to think in terms of pop influences as being post 1980 breakfast club kind of stuff but it seems to have taken hold much earlier than that as the general cultural influence.

    Absolutely. Patsy Cline…that woman makes me want to dive face-first into pile of manure and start chowing down. To the rest of you it would look like having sex with a crazy girl, but because I speak from within the Tao I accept the truth of the previous characterization; despite what my feelings might tell me.

  3. Agreed. I hadn’t watched or even read about Downton Abby before your post, and was surprised at how horrible it was. Or rather, not that the show was that bad, but that some of the traditional Catholic families I know had started watching it and had raved about it to me while also saying, “It’s a British soap opera.” as if that wasn’t damning enough in and of itself.

  4. @Leap

    some of the traditional Catholic families I know had started watching it and had raved about it

    What’s going on is that they really want it to be seen as (read: confused with) something like “Pride and Prejudice”, but it’s not. In Pride and Prejudice, Lydia is a boil on the butt of the Bennett family.

    Imagine a different version of Pride and Prejudice where Lizzie sleeps with Wickham before realizing he is “a mistake”. That would be completely acceptable to modern audiences. Now imagine that Mr. Bennett (her father) is deeply disappointed and wants to hide her away, and Mr. Darcy abandons Lizzie because she is incontinent. Can you further imagine that they would–for love of women’s money–cast Mr. Bennett and Mr. Darcy as shallow, mean, unreasonable people? You bet they would.

  5. I’m going to make Patsy Kline music play in the background on my blog. Cane, please keep baby wipes and hand sanitizer available when you stop by.

    I have bad childhood memories from the late 60’s early 70’s of my mother drunk sitting on an antique love seat we had (man I wish i knew where that thing went, it was cool) in a room with one of those big wooden floor model TV/Stereo combos, slide the top open, plave the LP on the turntable, let er rip through the velvet covered speaker housings. I even have a picture of my mother, she was in her 30’s and quite beautiful, sitting there in jeans, holding a can of Blatz beer, and pointing at me as I snapped the Polaroid.

    Patsy Kline causes acid reflux

  6. @ Cane Caldo
    Hah. thanks for that break down. I know for a fact that young woman in the family has read pride and prejudice, so I’ll ask her about that and tease her on it should the topic come up again. We’ll see how she reacts.

  7. Accurate assessment of the female mind Cane. It has given me an idea for a post, one that I will try and knock out in the next day or two.

    They love them some bad eggs.

    As the Bard would say, therein’s the rub…

  8. @Leap

    I’ll ask her about that and tease her on it should the topic come up again.

    So you don’t get embarrassed or have the frame shifted on you: My imagination of a modern re-telling of Pride and Prejudice is not a re-telling of Downton Abbey, but what I imagine Pride and Prejudice would be like if the writers of Downton Abbey re-imagined it. Make sense?

  9. “My experience is they liked me bad” Sinners like to hang with sinners. What they don’t want is for some one to be ‘judgmental ‘ The only reason for the conversation is the implied truth that women are more virtuous than men. Women’s ‘ morality’ dominate our culture. It is very hard to find TV/movies that represent masculine values. I am leaning more toward Asian movies for this reason. “Justified” on FX is enjoyable, in my opinion.
    Just started reading you blog yesterday. I enjoy your frank style. Very manly!

  10. the deliciousness of bad eggs cannot be reconciled with your LAMPS.

    Perhaps not, although I think otherwise. You will have plenty of opportunity to rip my idea to shreds when I finally get around to posting it.

  11. FWIW, I’m lukewarm on the LAMPS idea too. It isn’t the case that men are attracted to women who are the most capable of being good mothers, because of the attributes that make her so. It also isn’t the case that women are most attracted to men with LAMPS, unless that squirrelly category “status” gets tautologically defined as that-to-which-they-are-attracted and does all the heavy lifting. IOW, I think LAMPS is to some extent a question-begging framework.

    I haven’t commented on it because I frankly only have so much appetite for all this self-help stuff. But Cane is right that there is probably a kind of attraction to the glamour of evil involved here. Men can sometimes find slutty women more immediately attractive precisely because of their sluttiness; and women sometimes find men attractive precisely because they are worthless douchebags.

  12. Ok…so I banned Justified after the first episode. In fact I don’t even think I made it _through_ the first episode. Did I miss something redeeming?

    And per my last comment I really think they don’t hear but they do listen to the lyrics which is a subtle difference.

  13. Which is why I detest the stupid idea that women like strong provider types, and that why they like bad boys is because they are actually displaying provider tendencies. My experience is they liked me bad

    I’m inclined to believe you are wrong on this. Zippy for example references our attraction to sluts. Sluts are _generally_ somewhat attractive. That is, they bear the physical markers of “good mother”. However, in combination with lust and sloth we pick them up. They are after all called easy for a reason.

    Bad boys project power. One-on-one many are formidable opponents. Some are even pack leaders. They are an easy path to status. For the record though I haven’t formed an opinion on LAMPS.

  14. @DG and GKC

    You guys are just really wrong on this. The appeal of the slut is her availability. Those girls will do anything.

    Bad boys project power.

    No. Bad boys project fun, drama, danger, rebelliousness, and excitement. Thirty years ago Cyndi Lauper told us everything we needed to know about why girls like bad boys.

    High school house party: Football player walks in. He gets a lot of high fives from other men, and a cheerleader agrees to go on a date with him; maybe he makes out with her. Skinny guy in a motorcycle jacket walks in and lights up a smoke. Before the end of the party he has sex in the back bedroom.

    Girls just want to have fun. So do guys, but the difference is that guys know that no one is going to let them get away with anything. If the situation–whatever it is–goes belly up, then he will be expected to suffer the consequences. In contrast, girls are let off the hook at the first sign of a tear or tantrum.

    @GKC

    Ok…so I banned Justified after the first episode. In fact I don’t even think I made it _through_ the first episode. Did I miss something redeeming?

    Yes. It’s really entertaining.

    But, I’m wondering if the real question is: “How can Justified be allowed, but Downton Abbey not?” The answer is that neither me nor my wife are susceptible to the Justified fantasy world, but my wife–and especially my daughters–are to Downton Abbey’s. Moreover, everyone around them doesn’t think anything is terribly wrong with it–not even with Mary’s plotline. More-moreover, nearly everyone around my daughters has actually engaged in the Mary plotline (including their parents), but has never shot anyone, ran drugs, etc. Finally, if I were to say, “Man, Raylan really shouldn’t sleep with that bartender.”, or even, “Justified doesn’t exhibit great morals.”, no one would defend it. Lots of women defend Downton Abbey, and even Mary.

  15. Actually no, though I think you go into this upthread. I just didn’t see anything redeemable about it. It seemed to have bad direction, bad writing, a snotty lead, and no redeeming moral virtue (that is it wasn’t even moderately True).

  16. @ Cane

    You guys are just really wrong on this. The appeal of the slut is her availability. Those girls will do anything.

    For the record, I never said anything about sluts. Not sure if you meant to address me on that or not.

  17. If women love bad eggs so much, how can a Christian man get the woman? Unless the Christian man himself is the bad egg, but that seems to be a contradiction.

    You yourself agree they liked you bad, but now you are married. So do you balance the bad? Did you find something better than the bad? Or is it acceptable to be “the bad” in the relationship?

    As a young man I’m not sure the best route. The best way I can think of is to use game as a tool, and extract as many qualities that are compatible with the Bible into my toolset. But even that has flaws.

  18. @Emp

    He has effective Game in that scenario. “Game” is like culture, or philosophy: Everybody has it; even if it’s incoherent, destructive, or ineffective. Individual Game is superior to other individual Game.

    @John

    If women love bad eggs so much, how can a Christian man get the woman?

    Women don’t want only the bad. They want good eggs, too. I was addressing a specific error; that of thinking that women like bad boys because bad is strong, or appears strong, and therefore good. Can you see the bait and switch there? It’s the evo-psych version of the pedestalization of women; that women aren’t really interested in sin, but merely acting on subconscious impulses to secure provision, protection, etc.

    Women are fallen just like men, and they war within themselves just like we do. We value chastity but fornicate with sluts. They

    To answer your question: She has to find him interesting; good or bad. The trouble most Christian guys have is that they’ve been scolded and beaten into avoiding anything interesting. That make is very easy for the skinny guy to be interesting by merely lighting up a cigarette. Add to that the fact that girls like some amount of badness itself–and have been spared scoldings and beatings to help them along–and it’s easy for that guy to get laid.

Leave a Reply

