Media Consumed and a Question

I decided against watching the rest of Walking Dead. It was good except in one important respect: It wasn’t fun. Once the events of season two were settled, I didn’t really care what happened; not even about the zombie-slaver thing that rescues the sassy wench. I expect some Amazonian shenanigans ensued. If true, it’s so boring and so stupid.

Speaking of which: A while back I read a comment on Dalrock’s blog that I can’t now find. It cited a study which found that about 1 in 1,000 women are as physically strong as the average man. I’d take it as a kindness if someone could send me a link to the study/materials.

Still haven’t watched the last season of Justified. I was waiting so long for it to be on Amazon Prime, and now I can’t keep it in mind.

I saw Elysium last week, and generally liked it because I’m a sucker for SciFi that at least takes a running jump at earnestness. The overall plot of the elite moving to the ultimate gated community struck me as reasonable. The healthcare MacGuffin was a bit silly, though, because they didn’t explain why they had hospitals on Earth, but Insta-Heal machines in orbit. The write should have attached a horrible cost to them. Suppose every time the Insta-Heal is used, someone has to die to donate the raw materials, or it’s powered by super-expensive, super-delicate crystals. That would explain why only the rich have it. Otherwise they would shut down the hospitals on Earht, put a Insta-Heal Machine in strategic locations, and live in blissful, ignorant, and uninterrupted orbit away from the Latinos.

I’ve been reading some of Robert E. Howard’s Conan stories. Really entertaining.

Watched a brief series of Conan webisodes from the comic book publisher. They gutted the female character of the story to make it palatable for feminists. Really lame.

15 thoughts on “Media Consumed and a Question

  1. “about 1 in 1,000 women are as physically strong as the average man.”
    That can’t be. I see butt-kicking babes knocking out guys with a casual back-fist all the time on TV.

    You should read Howard’s Bran Mak Morn stories.

  2. Get started on “Justified”. Season 6 is absolutely brilliant, with one of the best runs of consistently great episodes the show has ever had.

    The finale was excellent but what they do with Ava will annoy you. But I think what happens is very in character for Raylan (who always had a weakness for woman), and I’ll leave it at that.

    Make time to see it, it’s brilliant. Starting with “The Hunt” especially.

    I’ve been binge-watching the American version of “The Office” recently. I don’t think I’ve laughed so much in my life. Steve Carrell is brilliant, and I’m surprisingly invested in the office romances.

  3. @Bruce

    I see butt-kicking babes knocking out guys with a casual back-fist all the time on TV.

    I consider it an offense against the viewer. They might as well break the fourth wall and have the writers flip the bird at the camera.

    @MtC

    I will get to it, soon. The schedules of the various residents of Casa Caldo are in flux at the moment. and it’s difficult to find time with Mrs. Caldo, but without the bambinos.

    I’ve been binge-watching the American version of “The Office” recently. I don’t think I’ve laughed so much in my life. Steve Carrell is brilliant, and I’m surprisingly invested in the office romances.

    The early seasons really are quite funny, but I had to bail on The Office during the fifth season. By that point I cringed more than I laughed. YMMV.

  4. The early seasons really are quite funny, but I had to bail on The Office during the fifth season. By that point I cringed more than I laughed. YMMV.

    My plan is to watch up to season 7 (when Carrell leaves), then skip to the finale.

    There really are some classic episodes and moments. My favorite episode is probably “Dinner Party” (which I watched out of order because it happened to be on TV), but I THINK my favorite single scene is “prison Mike”. There are so many contenders, though. It’s really excellent.

  5. Same feeling about Walking Dead….almost exact same feeling and timing.

    Wife and i tried to watch Justified. I took the recommendation(s) from here, and from a college friend who is laid up with MS and finds himself watching lots of TV, and ran with them. Three episodes in, nada, zero traction, unbelievable character, meaning literally unconvincing, (actor played a decent role in the under rated and begging for sequel movie ” I Am Number Four” though)

  6. Cane: Reached season 5 of “The Office”.

    There’s definitely a bit of a quality drop. Nothing too extreme yet. The big issue is the lack of Jim/Pam drama, I think. Their relationship was such a huge aspect of the show. Losing that tension affects things a lot. I miss meek, shy, nice Pam. A refreshing change of pace in modern television.

    I’m gonna continue watching, because there’s still a lot of potential for humor. I just think that Jim and Pam getting together should probably have been the end game. But Steve Carrell is too funny, man.

  7. Pingback: The Office: Ironic Disdain | Things that We have Heard and Known

  8. @NSR

    I haven’t seen any of the TV show; nor Daredevil. When Green Arrow came to Netflix I watched a few. They were terrible. Though that did give me the wonderful opportunity to hear my daughters’ criticisms of the show; which I could have said myself. That was great.

    I’m leery of comic books anyways because that is a favorite medium for the repugnant farce of the ass-kicking heroine.

  9. @Cecil

    Welcome.

    I watched the first season and didn’t care for it. I know of no wife-swapping tradition among Scandinavians, no tradition of bringing women viking, and no tradition of Scandinavian women violently opposing the most badass warriors in the rape part of rape-and-pillage. Way too much grrl-power for me to tolerate. Perhaps the later seasons had less, but they’d already spent my good-will.

    I wanted to like it, but I have a visceral reaction to ass-kicking females.

  10. Cane,

    I don’t know about the discussion at Dalrock’s, but this post by Razib Khan will get you some relevant facts and figures on differences in grip strength:

    http://www.unz.com/gnxp/men-are-stronger-than-women-on-average/

    The recent Marine Corps experiment on mixed-sex platoons having significantly poorer performance is just another confirmation of what used to be considered plain common sense.

    These article is focused on more general athletic performance:

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3761733/

    http://www.researchgate.net/publication/19552903_Sex_difference_in_muscular_strength_in_equally-trained_men_and_women

Leave a Reply

