More Scripture on the Nation of Christ

St. Peter, to the Christians throughout the ancient world:

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

11 Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul. 12 Keep your conduct among the Gentiles honorable, so that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day of visitation.

…and to us today. Any who hear St. Peter’s instruction for wives in this same letter (chapter 3) likewise should hear this, which preceded it.

Jesus, to the religious leaders of the Jews, who falsely thought they were the Children of Abraham because of the flesh:

37 I know that you are offspring of Abraham; yet you seek to kill me because my word finds no place in you. 38 I speak of what I have seen with my Father, and you do what you have heard from your father.”

39 They answered him, “Abraham is our father.” Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works Abraham did, 40 but now you seek to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God. This is not what Abraham did. 41 You are doing the works your father did.” They said to him, “We were not born of sexual immorality. We have one Father—even God.” 42 Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and I am here. I came not of my own accord, but he sent me. 43 Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to hear my word. 44 You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.

In Revelation, St. John writes

And when he had taken the scroll, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb, each holding a harp, and golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints. And they sang a new song, saying,

“Worthy are you to take the scroll
    and to open its seals,
for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God
    from every tribe and language and people and nation,
10 and you have made them a kingdom and priests to our God,
    and they shall reign on the earth.”

Of all the texts I have quoted, Revelations contains the most scorn for worldly nationalism. I leave it as an exercise for others to read it. “The nations” are spoken of frequently and always in error and evil. There is no mention of the redemption of nations, but rather individuals redeemed from–removed from–nations, and placed into Christ’s nation.

6 thoughts on “More Scripture on the Nation of Christ

  1. Thanks Mr Caldo. It’s much clearer to me now. So I guess laws enacted by secular Governments that restrict Christians’ in proclaiming their faith or living out their lives in submission to Christ are really judgement from God.

  2. Redemption literally means to purchase a person who’s been sold into slavery (usually due to debt) and restore them to freeman status.

    Does that imply that we are currently enslaved by earthly nations, or am I pushing the analogy too far?

  3. Oscar:

    “…He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son…” (Colossians 1:13)

  4. @Oscar

    It’s undeniable. We are born in sin, slaves to the flesh. Ethnicity is a catalogue of flesh and its traits.

    Still, some traits are worse than others, and some traits are worse in one than in another.

  5. Does that imply that we are currently enslaved by earthly nations, or am I pushing the analogy too far?

    I’m reminded of Jews in Jesus’ time being subject to the Romans. “Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

    America was even patterned after Rome. A republic, which we can no longer keep.

Leave a Reply

