…Things I Didn’t Ask to Think About…

That’s a lot to think about. And I have been. In addition to listening to podcasts I’ve spent a lot of time with screens and speakers and voices off; just thinking. All the while praying for wisdom and discernment. What I want to find is big-picture understanding, but what I have found is a lot of conviction, and only a little bit of the larger scene.

A while back I wrote that I had come to the unavoidable and humiliatingly simple conclusion that the Sabbath ought to be kept.[1] Well–as I was listening to the History of English Podcast and thinking about Nationalism, the Alt-Right, and NRx–I came to similarly simple conclusion of the Real Presence of Christ in the Lord’s Supper. That was on a Wednesday. The following Sunday, our priest (I am Anglican) stopped me at the door and said “We need to train you to be a Lay Eucharistic Visitor so you can take Eucharist to Bob.” (Bob is homebound with sickness and injury.) We have never before spoken on the subject of LEV, or training me for anything. Of course I agreed. It was not a question.

Which naturally brings one to head-coverings for women. It did me, anyways. It’s been my habit to read 1 Corinthians 11 and then quickly cloud it–that men should never pray or prophesy with their heads covered, but women should only pray or prophesy with their heads covered–with what I have been taught all these years.. Though, it would be more true to say what I have been untaught all these years. Part of the trouble we Christian husbands and fathers have is underestimating how eroded are our churches and their habits.

Today I had the family together and I read to them I Corinthians 11:1-16; stopping ten or twelve times to ask them questions to see if they agreed with me–though I had not told them my interpretation. Then I asked “So, if St. Paul is an imitator of Christ, and he commends the Church in Corinth’s imitation of him, and if we are supposed to also imitate St. Paul and therefore Christ according to the traditions St. Paul delivered to them: Should women wear head coverings when they pray or prophesy?” They all answered in the affirmative and I told them, happily, that I agreed. Mrs. Caldo agreed, but then momentarily balked, and then agreed. I could in no way hold it against her: The balk was my words out of her mouth. I cannot hold it against her, and neither do I blame myself for listening to my elders on the matter. Though, we both would have to admit that no one forbid us head coverings.

Also: Thanks to Moose Norseman and Blake Law


[1] My habit is to look up links after I write the post. I see now I posted about my change of mind on the Sabbath just a few days from a year ago. I am slow.

7 thoughts on “…Things I Didn’t Ask to Think About…

  1. I probably need to meditate on this myself, but I am still not fully convinced, when viewing the entirety of the Scriptures.

    Many things seem very clear when examined alone, but not so much when looked at from a broader perspective.

    [Pro 18:17 NKJV] 17 The first [one] to plead his cause [seems] right, Until his neighbor comes and examines him.

  2. Very encouraging. My family has been blessed by adopting this biblical practice. I think it’s a powerful witness to others in the church. My wife and girls also cover their heads when we do our family devotions in the home. One of my new, favorite phrases as a father is, “Get your covers.” That means it’s time to pray and sing and read and enter the presence of God as a family. It also means my children learn that God created daughters beautifully, mysteriously, and vastly different that sons.

  3. Interestingly, I had a similar experience. After reading Charles Taylor’s epic A Secular Age, I realized that for me the world had become reenchanted in a sense. One way this was evidenced was that I had come to believe in the Real Presence in the Eucharist. Not necessarily in the Catholic way, but in the sense that their is a real, physical effect from participating the Eucharist (and other Christian rituals such as fasting and baptism)

Leave a Reply

