Your Other Right Mind

The other day I wrote “Revelation is a puzzle”, but that might have been misunderstood depending on what one thinks of when one thinks of puzzles.

Prophecy, in the Bible, is always descriptive, and not instructive. It paints a scene. It does not rationalize. If it is a puzzle then it is a picture puzzle, and neither a scheme nor an equation.

So, for example, if you read Revelation and think that The Whore of Babylon represents Feminism or that Babylon represents Liberalism: Fine. I’ll still be looking for a woman, or a female institution.

10 thoughts on “Your Other Right Mind

  1. What do you mean by “I’ll still be looking for a woman, or a female institution”? Do you mean a female world leader? What do you mean by “a female institution”?

  2. @Oscar

    I’ve been trying to think of a clearer way to say it, but I’m having trouble.

    I mean that I believe strongly that Babylon and the Whore of Babylon will be something we can see; not just an idea, ideology, rationale, or something abstract.

    Perhaps I should also what I mean by the word instructive: I mean it’s not a mere logical deduction from a formula. We will see it. We won’t see Satanism, or idolatry. We will see the things–the images or very things of Babylon/Rome.

    So I look for red clothes. I look for cities/empires spread over all the waters of the earth. I look for elevation or identification of a woman. Etc.

  3. I see. That makes a lot of sense. Whom/whatever the Great Whore is, it should be revealed to us at some point in such a way that it’s obvious. I agree.

    This is why the theory that most of the prophesies in Revelations were fulfilled in the 1st Century (Nero was the Antichrist, for example) never sat well with me. There are too many prophesies that have no historical analogue. The people who believe this theory then explain that those prophesies were metaphorical, but that doesn’t make sense to me either.

  4. On a mildly related note, I think the rise of Pepe is interesting when considering this passage from Revelations 16:13-14:

    “Then I saw three impure spirits that looked like frogs; they came out of the mouth of the dragon, out of the mouth of the beast and out of the mouth of the false prophet. They are demonic spirits that perform signs, and they go out to the kings of the whole world, to gather them for the battle on the great day of God Almighty.”

    Some documented oddities on Pepe
    https://pepethefrogfaith.wordpress.com/

    What sticks out to me
    1. Kek is the name for an Egyptian god of chaos, who is represented with a frog
    2. Frog memes and imagery have strange coincidences with events in this election, which gets called #MemeMagic
    3. Knowing (1), some Alt-righters have adopted the phrase “praise kek” when observing #MemeMagic

  5. Moose Norseman says:
    September 28, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Would that be Pope Joan I (formerly Pope John XXIV), the RCC’s first transgender pope crowned in accordance with Francis I’s encyclical on “inclusion” in the church published just before his death?

  6. Who had played the harlot with Babylon before Revelations was written? The nation of Israel. Who was playing the harlot with the new Babylon upon seven hills at the time of the writing of Revelations? The nation of Israel. The book of Revelations is largely telling us the story of God’s putting away of His adulterous wife, and His future marriage to His spotless bride.

    Of course, this story has happened in many different ways before, and we can expect it to happen again.

Leave a Reply

