Sacred Cowgirls

In yesterday’s post on Passion Conference 2015, I left one observation out of the list of bullet points:

  • None of the women I observed wore a dress or a skirt.

I did not see all of the thousands in attendance, but–of the many hundreds who came into my field of view–zero of them wore the traditional garments of a woman of the West.[1] That brought to mind a tidbit I have been meaning to share.

Last year, about this time, I took the opportunity to work at the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo. While not as large as the Houston Stock Show and Rodeo, it is still a national event. I met people from Minnesota, Montana, California, Colorado, Missouri, Virginia, Kentucky, the Carolinas, the Dakotas…every state with a large agricultural industry.

It must be understood that a stock show and rodeo is a fundamentally conservative occasion, and it selects for those of a conservative frame of mind. Each rodeo event opens with a prayer to God and the National Anthem; which are delivered without apology. There is about them an air of aggressiveness; a daring against modern impiety.[2] The flag of America (and Texas) features often and prominently in clothes, accessories, and advertising. And there are Christian crosses everywhere. Of course, because this is an event centered on rural livelihoods and activities, everyone is wearing cowboy hats, boots, and jeans. Everyone.

A couple days into the event I realized that I had not noticed a single woman in a skirt. I began to keep count. At the end of six to eight hours a day, three to four days a week, for three weeks: I counted a total of six women in a skirt or dress. It must be concluded that conservative, hard-working, salt-of-the-earth, goodly-folk in flyover states have zero interest in conserving women’s attire.

Naturally, the women still want to be set apart from the men who are in the exact same attire. I saw lots of yoga pants and leggings. The haut-couture of women’s bottoms were these pajama-like pants worn over cowboy boots. These have the advantage of clinging to the butt and thigh, but hanging loose over the boot upper.

But the most common way of affecting a difference in dress from their male conservative counterparts was for women to wear jeans with rhinestones pasted on the seat. There were as many sparkly designs on butts as there are women, and more available in booths. It must be said that there can be no reason for sparkles on an ass except to call attention to the ass; which is immodest, exhibitionist, and ungodly.

Yet one of the common sparkly ass designs were rhinestone crosses.

[1] Now that I think about it, clothing of wraps like dresses, skirts, and gowns are the traditional garments of women across the globe and history.

[2] At least against their conception of modern impiety, anyways.

15 thoughts on “Sacred Cowgirls

  1. Pingback: Money Supermarket | Girls Being Girls

  2. It must be said that there can be no reason for sparkles on an ass except to call attention to the ass; which is immodest, exhibitionist, and ungodly.

    Yet one of the common sparkly ass designs were rhinestone crosses.

    If I were an artist I would create a cartoon which I think sums up the overall scenario. Picture an attractive woman with a rhinestone cross on her rear beating a man she caught looking (where she wanted him to look) with a club marked “custody of the eyes”. The caption would be “Adulterer!”

  3. @Dalrock

    If I were an artist I would create a cartoon…

    You should try your hand at it.

    My post title pleased me, but “Driscoll, where do baby-mamas come from?” was hilarious and inspired.

  4. Pingback: They Plow with Your Heifer. | Things that We have Heard and Known

  5. @Cane Caldo

    My post title pleased me, but “Driscoll, where do baby-mamas come from?” was hilarious and inspired.

    Thank you. I have to confess, I cracked myself up with that title. Every time someone left a comment and the title came up on the right hand side of the blog, I could hear it being asked in a child’s voice. I kill me.

  6. Pingback: Some Recommended Reading | Donal Graeme

  7. Cane, I live in Houston though I haven’t attended the rodeo yet. My husband and I went to our local suburban mall to do some Christmas shopping the weekend before Christmas. Out of the hordes of people there, I saw one woman in a skirt. Nearly every other woman wore jeans.

  8. Pingback: Yiayia and the empress’s new clothes | Dalrock

  9. First you claim that rodeos are full of conservative people; then you cite evidence at length to the contrary.

    The stores are full of dresses and skirts. Discover the demographic of who buys them, and where they hang out.

    This isn’t rocket science, people…….

  10. Karl says:
    February 12, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    “First you claim that rodeos are full of conservative people; then you cite evidence at length to the contrary.”

    It isn’t evidence to the contrary. It’s evidence that – in modern American culture – conservative Christians are roughly as likely to dress immodestly as the rest of the culture.

    In other words, it’s evidence that the modern American church is allowing itself to be “conformed to this world” instead of being “transformed by the renewing of [their] minds” (Romans 12:2).

  11. I’ve been thinking about these points, and while I’m sure you’ll agree with me I think you’re missing an important point.

    Women do NOT want to be looked at, full stop. They want to be looked at by men they are attracted to.

    If they are not attracted to you and you look, you’re a creep. The old Tom Brady rule in action.

    I think this is an important situation to make. The privilege females service actually goes even further then we’re all acknowledging here. They control literally everything about the marriage/dating market.

  12. Pingback: Escaping Androgyny by Mimicking the Brothel | Things that We have Heard and Known

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.