Sabbaths

Months back, Moose and I had an exchange about what it means to keep the sabbath. Long story short: I have been convinced that he was right[1]. In June I basically quit my job when I told them that I could no longer be gone on Sundays. Since then, I have turned down tens of thousands of dollars (to me) in projects. Sometimes I wonder if I’ve lost my mind.

To pay the bills I took up that ol’ Dave Ramsey advice and started delivering pizzas. My coworkers are mostly college students, and that’s provided me with some opportunities; not the least of which is  all the humble-pie I can eat. Enough said about that. The point of this post is to get that out of the way so I can share some of the stories I’ve collected in the trenches.

[1] Though I do believe that Sunday is the day to pick.

19 thoughts on “Sabbaths

  1. The sabbath is Saturday. Nowhere in the bible is Sunday mentioned. It was changed hundreds of years later by the Catholic Church at the council of nicea to appease the SJWs of the time, peagans.
    Christ himself rested on the sabbath and rose on Sunday. Keeping the sabbath on Sunday is antithetical to what the bible dictates.
    Good on you for seeing the value in actually, you know, following the Ten Commandments. Most Christians don’t even try, moral relativism paving the way for zero real life practice. But picking a day isn’t what is instructed, God gave specific instructions, I encourage you to follow them, if that’s what you’re going for.
    Good luck.

  2. Was this a private conversation or did it happen on one of/between your blogs? I’d be interested in reading it, as it’s a contentious issue that few denominations seem fully consistent on. My father may be a hard-line Calvinist, but he disregards Sundays as a day of rest, seeing as he usually goes out to lunch after Sunday services.

    Also, be careful out there. I used to deliver pizzas an a rural town when I was the age of your coworkers, and one of the older guys ended up getting robbed. Anyways, looking forward to the stories.

  3. @Will

    Welcome.

    Good on you for seeing the value in actually, you know, following the Ten Commandments.

    Yeah, that’s what I kept going back to. I couldn’t find any good reasons for thinking that the Sabbath was not supposed to be manifest; a physical thing.

    It’s not at all clear to me that Saturday is supposed to be the day that is observed.

    @AGK

    Welcome.

    Was this a private conversation or did it happen on one of/between your blogs?

    It was on one of our blogs, but I don’t remember if it was here or at his.

    My father may be a hard-line Calvinist, but he disregards Sundays as a day of rest, seeing as he usually goes out to lunch after Sunday services.

    That’s the other thing. At the same time that I stopped working on Sundays, I forbade my children from working on Sundays, and I forbade all of us from shopping/buying on Sundays; which took some getting-used-to. Exceptions can be made for real needs that cannot be met in other ways.

  4. @Will..

    Actually the Biblical Sabbath is from dusk to dusk..Friday to Saturday.

    Saturday evening is the beginning of the 1st day of the week. “The evening and the morning were the first day…” being part of the narrative from Genesis 1:5 and stuff.

  5. I’m with aGreyKnave: Reading your exchange, if you can find it, would be helpful in thinking through this issue. I’d dig it up myself, but comments aren’t searchable on my end.

  6. Laura Ingalls Wilder recounts how the prairie family did not “work” on Sunday yet still did the “chores”, milking the cows and feeding the animals. The animals didn’t care what day it was. Would you not rescue your ox on the Sabbath if it fell into a ditch?

    Those with an opinion either way would drag you into a debate and put you under the yoke of their particular restrictions, but those are an unprofitable red herring and the traditions of men that Jesus condemned, “for the Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath”. I think of the Saturday-ites as the new Talmudists and the Sunday-ites as the new Puritans.

    In the modern West we simply observe both: Saturday to rest from the paying job for chores at home, Sunday for worship. As Jesus is the culmination of all the feasts, so he is of the Sabbath, making every day in some sense a rest for the people of God. “Come to me…”

  7. What was wrong with the Puritans? We could use a lot more “Puritanism” these days. We are to be doers of the Word, not just hearers.

  8. JDG,

    I don’t disagree with you. The comment was about neopuritans and neotalmudists, to coin a cliche or two, of which you may make what you will, but that discussion is for another time and another place, which for me is probably nowhere and never.

    All the best,
    Caspar

  9. From my understanding about the sabbath. Saturday is the Sabbath. Go to church, worship god, do no work. Sunday, from what I understand, Go to church, go hang out/eat a feast with someone from the congregation. Still no work.

    I could be wrong about this. However I do agree with the bible concerning a day of rest.

  10. Colossians 2:16 and following puts to rest all such wranglings. Hebrews 4:9 speaks to our Sabbath rest being in Jesus.

  11. @Stryker

    Colossians 2 speaks of rejecting Jewish traditions and mysticisms concerning the Sabbath. It does not say that we are no longer to observe one day in seven for rest from our gathering. Just as the commandment against murder is but a shadow of life everlasting in Christ, so is the sabbath a shadow of rest in Christ. We still shall not murder and we still shall observe one day in seven for rest from gathering for ourselves. Not because we are, in ignorance, beholden to the shadows, but because those shadows are of Christ.

    Hebrews 4 confirms that acceptance of the real thing does not mean that the shadows of Christ are no longer of Christ; that there is a continuance of things drawing us into further understanding.

  12. Yes, but Col 2 does mean that debates over Saturday vs Sunday for the “true” sabbath are at best unproductive.

  13. Pingback: Some Scattered Thoughts | Donal Graeme

  14. @Cane

    Thanks, I’ve been enjoying your blog for a while now. Hope the financial situation improves dramatically – know that you’ve got men praying for you.

    The prayer of a righteous man availeth much, but mine certainly can’t hurt!

  15. @George

    It is much appreciated.

    By the way: You went into moderation a second time because you mistyped your email address and WordPress thought you were a first-time commenter. Going forward it should post straightaway.

  16. Pingback: …Things I Didn’t Ask to Think About… | Things that We have Heard and Known

Leave a Reply

